70th Year Freedom Celebration – TN State Level Chess Tmt 2017

We have conducted 70th YEAR FREEDOM CELEBRATION TAMILNADU STATE LEVEL CHESS TOURNMENT Men & Women and category under 8,10,12,16 for Boys and Girls On 15th August 2017 at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai.

This event attracted overall 424 (Boys 239, Girls 97 and Men 97, Women 10) entries for all the categories. We had six round for Boys Category and Five rounds for Girls category except Women (4 Rounds) in swiss system.

Some special points for Men’s Open category: –

  • Out of 97 entries 45 Rated Players
  • Highest rating participated Mr. Saravana Kumar (2043)
  • Asian Youth Chess Championship Bronze medalist Master “Harshavardan G B” won the Title.
  • Gopala Krishnan, Former Tamil Nadu State Chess Association Treasurer secure the 2nd position.

The prizes were given to top 10 players in the both section and 56 number of consolation medals given for motivation and encouragement of children who near the main prize list.

In the prize distribution function started at 5:30 PM. Mr. Gopala Krishnan, Former Tamil Nadu State Chess Association Treasurer gave away the prizes.

The Title Winners are: –


Before commencement of the tournament, we have conducted Arbiter refreshment meeting and discussed about recent changes of Law of Chess.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *